Author Topic: My life with Mk 3 Internationals.  (Read 4561 times)

Red Rocket

My life with Mk 3 Internationals.
« on: October 29, 2012, 11:02:55 PM »
I don't get a lot of time to spend reading messages on forums, but I came here because Brad asked me about putting his canopy pictures on the forum.  I've been away for a few days and I've just found that he has managed to do it.
It has been interesting reading the posts made in your endeavours to get your vehicles back to operational condition.

I have had 30 years experience with these vehicles, using them in the wildest parts of Australia to make a living. I have been as far from civilization as you can get in this country in these trucks, in the most trying terrain you can imagine where ten hours driving gets you 50km for day after day. The trucks never let me down. Many times I have thought " jeesus, how much more of this going can they take before something breaks?" Nothing ever broke.

The modifications I made to the trucks in that time were so small, you would never notice. A better catch on the jerrycan holder, small protector lugs in front of the tool box catches to stop trees from wiping them off. I widened the passenger seat to take two when necessary and fitted the Mk4/ F1 rev counter to the instrument panel. I made swing-in mountings for the original mirrors after crumpling up lots of those original ones with legs.
I fitted spin-on oil filters to make it less messy and less prone to ingress of dirt when doing oil changes in the bush. (The mounting block off the V/8 engine fits straight on)
All wheel cylinders are sleeved with stainless steel and and I fitted stainless pistons to them.
I changed two of the trucks to busses without changing the original vehicle., just by adding removable bits.
That's about it! A good vehicle doesn't need to be changed.