Author Topic: Hi Everybody  (Read 2768 times)

Offline BavarianLad

• THANKS 0
Hi Everybody
« on: January 08, 2018, 08:24:38 PM »
I’m glad to join the remlr community, with my new pride and joy a Defender TD5.

I’ve been driving Defender for over 10 years, but this is my first ex army vehicle.

First I was looking for a Perentie (Ilike the canvas), but it wasn’t possible to get any rear seats approved (not in WA). The TD5 already got the approval with the 6 bench seats in the back. Really a great vehicle to get all my mates out.

But I still want to change the hard top into a soft top with the roll bars.
I’ve already done it with a civilian Defender in Germany, it’s very easy to change. I’ve done it seasonally (as I still wanted a hard top in the frost season).
Does anyone know where I can get the roll bars, header rail and all the other necessary stuff in WA? Maybe a specialized wrecking yard in Perth? Or someone who build a hard top on it’s Perentie and got no use for the soft top gear?

Offline BavarianLad

• THANKS 0
Re: Hi Everybody
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 08:27:11 PM »
That's the one :)

Offline Marlin

• THANKS 10
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 09:03:49 PM »
Hi and Welcome. There are a lot of people looking to convert their soft tops into hard tops, so someone may well want to swap the parts with you.

A problem you may encounter though is that your vehicle has rear seating approval as a hard top. You say you cannot get a soft top approved in WA, so if you did the conversion it would render your car un roadworthy.

Offline Mick_Marsh

• REMLR Inc
  • Veteran
  • THANKS 110
  • REMLR No: 310
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 09:33:55 PM »
You bring up an interesting point, Marlin.
Would you require engineering to convert from a hard top to a soft top? I would suggest, yes.
Would that then mean engineering is required when converting from soft top to hard top?